BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Carlosmx
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All!

I'm new in SAS and I need your help. I need to look up for account id in a database, I have a spreed sheet that contains the account names. I've used an index function but I just can retrieves some of the account ids due to names are different (some of them include dots, comma, etc) and there isn't and exact match.

I was thinking in separete the account name into several fields (in excel) i.e. "Best Buy", will be divided into 2 columns "Best" and "Buy" and then column 1 will be a format, column 2 another one, etc. The excel file will contain these headers Rowid, Index1, Index2, Index3, etc (I want to use Rowid in order to match the excel with the results)

I will import the excel file into SAS and make it a format

Code:

%makefmt(dslib=Work,dsin=Data,fmtname=$indexone,start=index1,lv=Y, other=N);

data AccountsUS (keep= account_name account_id region industry);

set Accounts;

where index(upcase(put(account_name,$indexone.))) >0 ;

run;

How can I add the row id in the table results, due to I cab match some strings, but I would like to know to which string belongs that match with the row id)

Any tip or hint?

Thanks

11 REPLIES 11
Carlosmx
Calcite | Level 5

I forgot to correct this line:

where index(upcase(put(account_name,$indexone.)))>0;

ballardw
Super User

Some examples of what you have and what you want for output would be helpful.

Carlosmx
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you ballardw:

I would like to have something like this:

Excel File

Row IDIndex1Index2Index3Index4
1DesjardinsGroupMouvementdes
2CanadaPostCorporation(Canada
3NovaScotiaLiquorCorporation
4GoodyearCanadaInc.
5ShellCanadaProducts
6HydroOneNetworksInc.
7BritishColumbiaMinistryof
8WhirlpoolCanadaLP

SAS Match: (accound_id is taken from the database, index1 and RowId are taken of excel file)

Accound_idIndex1Row ID
523223Desjardins1
1348864Nova3
1253532Hydro6
1258563Whirlpool8
ballardw
Super User