BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
xueke47
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi all,

I'm a new SAS programmer with some Python background. I had thought SAS is a procedural language only capable of dealing with tabular data, until I recently discovered proc fcmp and had a better understanding of the data step.

In summary, what I realized is that whatever code we put within a data step is to some degree similar to a single script in a general-purpose programming language (e.g. Python)––we define certain variables in memory and performs operations on them. If only using the data step, the feature of variable scoping is missing, but proc fcmp conveniently fills that gap. Then I come up with the question in the title–can we declare a hash object in a data step and pass it to a function/subroutine defined via proc fmcp by reference?

To clarify my question, I know we can pass array by reference as in the following code.

proc fcmp outlib=work.funcs.trial;
subroutine modify(a[*]);
outargs a;
n=dim(a);
do i=1 to n;
a[i]=a[i]*2;
end;
endsub;
quit;

options cmplib=work.funcs;

data test;
array a[2];
a[1]=1; a[2]=2; output;
call modify(a); output;
run;

The array is defined in the data step and passed to the subroutine modify() to be modified. Can we replace the array statement by a hash object declaration and in some way pass it to a subroutine to be modified?