BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
spraynardz90
Calcite | Level 5

Hi

Please see attached.

I am seeking assistance in interpreting my regression results. Unfortunately I am only a beginner in econometrics so Im not sure what to look at really... What determines the stronger relationship/best explanatory variable?

What figure or score should I be looking at to assert whether the regression explains the relationship well?

Are there any problems I need to consider when interpreting these results?

Ie: Panel data, Long time period, etc.

Any help/input would be greatly appreciated.

sas.JPG
11 REPLIES 11
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

I'd be very concerned about the R-Squared value being so close to zero. To me this says:

• The model doesn't really fit the data; or
  • You have severe outliers; or
  • both of the above

You need to plot the data, and examine residuals against independent variables, and residuals against predicted values, and see if the problems I mentioned are apparent.

--
Paige Miller
spraynardz90
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks PaigeMiller, what does the F value indicate?

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Maybe you should take a step back. You wouldn't drive a car without knowing what the gas pedal, brakes and steering wheel do. I think you need to do some reading on regression basics, because right now you are doing the equivalent of driving a car without knowing what the gas pedal, brakes and steering wheel do.

The F-value is a test to see if the observed relationship in the data could have arisen by random chance.

--
Paige Miller
spraynardz90
Calcite | Level 5

I agree, ive bought some books but amazon are taking their sweet time. Could you reccommend any online texts for the econometric layman?

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

As I haven't had the need to look for such a thing since the Internet began, I have no recommendation. I'm sure you can find lots of tutorials using Google.

--
Paige Miller
Reeza
Super User