BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Lane
Calcite | Level 5
SAS newbie here. I am trying to import a CSV file. Two columns are giving me trouble. I have county names in one column and state names in the other. Anything over 6 to 8 characters gets cut off in these columns once imported. Any idea on how I can keep SAS from cutting off my columns. I apologize if this is a problem that can be found by searching the forums, but I simply don't know what keywords to use to search for this problem.

Also, it is too big to convert to XLS. 400,000+ rows of data.

Thanks in advance
5 REPLIES 5
RickM
Fluorite | Level 6
Try using a length statement before you input the data.

Good luck!
Lane
Calcite | Level 5
Rick, thanks for the reply. You'll have to forgive me since I'm drastically unfamiliar with SAS. Where would the length code fall within the following import code? And what length is appropriate? (I'm assuming that, say "length county $15" doesn't specify 15 characters...am I correct here?)

PROC IMPORT OUT= WORK.states
DATAFILE= "C:\Documents and Settings\dregiste\states.csv"
DBMS=csv REPLACE;
GETNAMES=YES;
RUN;
RickM
Fluorite | Level 6
I made a test csv file and used your code and it worked fine with me. I usually use the datastep approach rather than proc import so I'm not sure why it isn't working for you. You could try using

PROC IMPORT OUT= WORK.states
DATAFILE= "C:\states.csv"
DBMS=csv REPLACE;
GETNAMES=YES;
GUESSINGROWS=1000;
RUN;

state.csv
------------------------------------
State,City
Massachusetts,Boston

Message was edited by: RickM Message was edited by: RickM
Lane
Calcite | Level 5
I added your guessingrows command and in the log i found a data step code with the informats and formats. I copied and pasted that and increased the number for county and state in both format and informat and that got it to work! Thanks for your help Rick!
Peter_C
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
Lane
don't use proc import,
Instead use a data step with
an infile pointing to your data,