BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
abubakrayesh
Fluorite | Level 6

I have around 50 data sets with same variables. I have to add, drop and rename some variables in each of these data sets. Can I run a macro to run the code simultaneously on all files? Or is there any other way?

PS I am pretty new to SAS; please try to explain in detail.

4 REPLIES 4
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

You should learn to call- call execute after having your dataset names list in a variable. To learn how to call call execute, google it. I don't know how many would have the time or will to explain in detail Anyway good luck

Reeza
Super User

First rule - get it working for one data set first, with no bugs. Then try and change that for another data set and note all the things you have to change. Then you can work on automating it. 

A walk through of macros is here

https://stats.idre.ucla.edu/sas/seminars/sas-macros-introduction/

If you need help, I suggest posting your working code, highlighting what you need to be dynamic, which you identified from the first step and we can help with the automation.

@abubakrayesh wrote:

I have around 50 data sets with same variables. I have to add, drop and rename some variables in each of these data sets. Can I run a macro to run the code simultaneously on all files? Or is there any other way?

PS I am pretty new to SAS; please try to explain in detail.

PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

Do you know the names of all the data sets? And if yes, are these names in a data set? 

s_lassen
Meteorite | Level 14

If you have the program for one dataset, I would suggest trying this: Write another SAS program, which writes the first program, and put the variable parameters in datastep variables, e.g.:

filename tempsas temp; /* you can also allocate a permanent file here */
data _null_;
  input dsname $;
  file tempsas;
  put 
    'data outlib.' dsname ';'  /
    '  set inlib.' dsname '(keep=a b c d f);' /
    '  where c<33;' /
    'run;' /
    ;
cards;