BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
robertrao
Quartz | Level 8

Hi ,

I am a beginner and i have difficulty in following the answered codes while I go through the questions posted on Forum. Recently I replied through their discussions and many memebrs suggested to post it as a new question instead of replying to the answered questions. Could some one explain me details regarding.

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

In general, if the question is directly on the original subject, you should use Reply in that thread.

If it is tangential (for example, you didn't understand the code), a new thread is the best way to go. You can copy the code you didn't understand, or you can copy and quote the text you didn't understand, provide a link to the original thread, and ask your question. For example:

Start of example

In an earlier thread, George said:

The rain in Spain stays mainly on the plain.

I don't see the data to support this. Can someone give me more details about this data?

End of example

Normally, in these forums, you don't direct questions to a specific individual. You explain your question, with appropriate quotes, and give credit to the person who made the quote, but you ask the entire community for an explanation. If that person is reading and wishes to answer, he or she may do so. In this way, everyone may participate in the conversation, and everyone may learn from the answers. In my opinion, it is not appropriate to continue a discussion by private e-mail if the topic may be of interest to the entire community.

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Karun,