BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hey ppl ,

I'm new to SAS and I have a question .

I have imported an excel file into SAS using the following code .

PROC IMPORT OUT= WORK.auto1
DATAFILE= "C:\Chris\Aug09.xls"
DBMS=EXCEL REPLACE;
SHEET="Sheet1";
GETNAMES=YES;
MIXED=YES;
USEDATE=YES;
SCANTIME=YES;

RUN;
proc print data=demo111;
run;

The excel file has about 500 rows and I have certain rows which are empty in the actual Excel file.
I wanna know how to write the code in the Editor so that i will be able to delete the empty rows and print the rows with only with values.

I was wondering if there is anything using the if statement , u know something like :

if row=Null
DELETE obs or row ;

Please help me out as I've been stuck with this for the last 2 days and its very annoying.
9 REPLIES 9
deleted_user
Not applicable
Please guys , any help is appreciated.

All i want to know is how to delete the empty rows and print the result out .

Thanks
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
There is SAS-hosted documentation and supplemental technical and conference topic-related reference material on the SAS support http://support.sas.com/ website. This is basic DATA STEP programming here -- or PROC SQL, if you prefer.

SAS 9.2 Language Reference: Concepts - DATA Step Processing
http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/lrcon/61722/HTML/default/a001281588.htm

Programming with the SQL Procedure
http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/sqlproc/62086/HTML/default/a001340018.htm

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.

Suggested Google advanced search argument to consider using:

data step programming site:sas.com
sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10 sbb
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10
Here's a code snippet structure using the DATA step approach:

DATA ;
SET ;
IF THEN DELETE;
RUN;

Scott Barry
SBBWorks, Inc.
deleted_user
Not applicable
Thanks SBB .

In my excel sheet I have 4 columns .

In one of the columns 5 rows are empty whereas the subsequent rows are full.