BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Not sure if this is the right place to ask but.... Can someone tell me the steps I need to follow in order to establish connectivity to an Oracle database? I've never done this before, so if whoever responds can put things into really simple terms, that would be greatly appreciated.

I also looked in SAS Tech Support, but not being sure of what to search for, found nothing.

Thank you to all who reply....looking forward to hearing from you!
6 REPLIES 6
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
I'm figuring that you have SAS/Access to Oracle. So searching on
SAS/Access Oracle connect
as the search string on support.sas.com yields a bunch of results. Among them:
http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/acreldb/59618/HTML/default/a001386225.htm (LIBNAME statement for relational databases)
http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/acreldb/59618/HTML/default/a003113595.htm (Using the Pass-Through facility)
http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/acreldb/59618/HTML/default/a003113595.htm#a003113596 (examples)

Also, if I remember correctly from previous posts, you have the Enterprise Intelligence Platform installed. So you might wish to read the Platform Administration documentation on configuring your servers and setting up LIBNAME statements for data base files -- generally, your data base files should be visible (defined to) the metadata server.

cynthia
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
Cindy & SASman,

The Enterprise Intelligence Platform is not necessary to use SAS/Access for Oracle (or, at least, I don't think that we have it installed).

SASman, you will need to work with your Oracle DBA to get the information to use SAS/Access for Oracle. The schema name is defined in the tnsnames.ora file (a file that the DBA manages). You also need to have the appropriate Oracle client (or at least some pieces) installed on the machine that SAS is running on.

Doc
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Doc: