BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mkit8
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I am VERY new to SAS. Very new and very confused....

For a homework assignment, we were given a sas7bdat file and were told to run proc univariate. I thought I was doing this correctly, but am not able to get any output.

Please see screenshots of the code I came up with below (and the errors that I received). I'm not sure what version of SAS I use. It is something that is available to me online through my school's application gateway (9_4 maybe?) I'm not sure what other information would be helpful to share.

Screen Shot 2019-01-21 at 10.24.25 AM.pngScreen Shot 2019-01-21 at 10.25.12 AM.png

Please help!!

Melody

5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User

I recommend watching this video. 

The first three minutes are about text files, then goes into using SAS data sets. 

https://video.sas.com/detail/videos/sas-analytics-u/video/4664335810001/accessing-your-existing-data...

I think about 3:30 to 5:00 is what you need. 

@mkit8 wrote:

Hi,

I am VERY new to SAS. Very new and very confused....

For a homework assignment, we were given a sas7bdat file and were told to run proc univariate. I thought I was doing this correctly, but am not able to get any output.

Please see screenshots of the code I came up with below (and the errors that I received). I'm not sure what version of SAS I use. It is something that is available to me online through my school's application gateway (9_4 maybe?) I'm not sure what other information would be helpful to share.

Screen Shot 2019-01-21 at 10.24.25 AM.pngScreen Shot 2019-01-21 at 10.25.12 AM.png

Please help!!

Melody

mkit8
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you, Reeza!

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

Instead of INFILE, you need a SET statement. Then you don't need the INPUT statement either.

SET statements are for data already in a SAS data set (or .sas7bdat file), while INFILE is for data that is in a text file.

Something like this:

set epi.frmgham;