BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Benbo123321
Calcite | Level 5

I'm relatively new to SAS. What I want to do is simple enough, however, every time I try to run the code with minor tweaks, I get an error. I have twelve months worth of information, P1-P12.  For P1-P3, the variable DOC_DATE is in the correct format, MMDDYY10. For P4-P12, DOC_DATE is a char variable. This is keeping me from creating one large data set for the entire year. Therefore, I need to make DOC_DATE in the P4-P12 data sets the same format, MMDDYY10. I do that by creating a temporary variable (_date) to house the correct date, called Document_Date, and then renaming it to DOC_DATE and dropping the extraneous variables.

Code:

Data DataRequest;

SET ERPOCT.p1_readin ERPNOV.p2_readin ERPDEC.p3_readin /*these 3 are correctly formatted   */
              ERPJAN.p4_readin(rename=(Document_Date=DOC_DATE)) ERPFEB.p5_readin(rename=(Document_Date=DOC_DATE))
              ERPMAR.p6_readin(rename=(Document_Date=DOC_DATE))  ERPAPR.p7_readin(rename=(Document_Date=DOC_DATE))  ERPMAY.p8_readin(rename=(Document_Date=DOC_DATE))
              ERPJUN.p9_readin(rename=(Document_Date=DOC_DATE))  ERPJUL.p10_readin(rename=(Document_Date=DOC_DATE))
              ERPAUG.p11_readin(rename=(Document_Date=DOC_DATE))  ERPSEP.p12_readin(rename=(Document_Date=DOC_DATE));

format _date  DOC_DATE  mmddyy10.;   /*_data is temp variable */
           _date=input(compress(Document_Date),MMDDYY10.);  /* remove blank of Document _Date */

DOC_DATE = _date;     /* retake the DOC_DATE */
            DROP   _Date  Document_date;
      where SUBSTR(Account,1,4) IN ('2110','2112','4221','4222','4801');

RUN;

I get the following Error Message for P4-P12:

ERROR: Variable Document_Date is not on file ERPJAN.P4_READIN

ERROR: Invalid DROP, KEEP, or RENAME OPTION on file ERPJAN.P4_READIN

Any help is appreciated.  Thank you.

M.