BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi, I'm a newbie so sorry if there is an obvious answer to this.

I'm using Proc Tabulate in SASV8 with 3 class variables and 2 var variable.

I am using the table statement

TABLE class1*class2, class3*var1*Mean

Class2 is therefore nesting within Class1 which is fine but when I export the data using ODS the column for Class1 only displays each value of Class1 once, rather than several times for each value of class2. The same happens when I output the data to the output window.

e.g. I get:
Class1a Class2a
[blankcell]Class2b
[blankcell]Class2c
Class1b Class2a
[blankcell]Class2b etc

Instead of:
Class1a Class2a
Class1a Class2b
Class1a Class2c
Class1b Class2a
Class1b Class2b etc

I need to have the second way of formatting the data for my export but can't find a way to do it - any ideas?

Thanks
Rob
3 REPLIES 3
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Proc Tabulate is trying to do you a favor by blanking out those row header areas. Most of the time, that's how folks want the report output to look. In the instance where you don't want that particular feature, you have to think outside the box or outside the ODS sandwich.

For example, if you get PROC TABULATE to do all the work of creating your summary information (using ODS OUTPUT), then you could use PROC PRINT on the output dataset from PROC TABULATE and the information for your CLASS1 variable would be on every line (this is example 1 in the code below). An issue with Example 1 is that you no longer have the TABULATE structure with your CLASS3 variables going across the COLUMNS -- I don't know whether that's acceptable to you or not. In my code, REGION is being repeated on every line -- it is the equivalent of your CLASS1 variable.