BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Henary
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Everyone,

I am new to SAS. so, Please let me know that the query " IF NOT FIRST.CPNP AND LAST.CPNP AND PLANT='USM' THEN DELETE;"

will delete duplicate rows from data sets or what??

Please reply me fast...

Thanks in Advance...

Henary

11 REPLIES 11
twocanbazza
Quartz | Level 8

This will delete the last CPNP record if it is not the first record of the CPNP group and where plant=USM only.

It will not delete all duplicates if your CPNP group has more than two records.

Barry

Henary
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Barry,

This is the full data set code..

"

DATA BQDATA.VBELTQUOTES(DROP=ERROR) BQDATA.VBELTERRORS;

LENGTH ERROR $ 25;

SET BQDATA.VBELTQUOTES; BY PRODNO CPNP PLANT PARTNO COST_YEAR;

DROP T COST_YEAR CREATE_DATE UPDATE_DATE CLASS_EFFECTIVE_DATE QUOTE_EFFECTIVE_DATE;

IF NOT FIRST.CPNP AND LAST.CPNP AND PLANT='USM' THEN DELETE;

RUN;

"

I thought this might help you to understand...

All I understood is that "BY PRODNO CPNP PLANT PARTNO COST_YEAR;" these 5 columns in By clause so for group of these 5 columns will have two set of values with same CPNP then it will delete second records..

In most cases I have CPNP value NULL..

If possible then can you reply me with example with random values that which records it will delete and which records will not..

Please...

Thanks Again in advance...

art297
Opal | Level 21

It still isn't clear which records you want to delete.  You can also, rather than use delete, only keep the records that you want.  Since you include all 5 variables in your by statement, are they all relevant?

If they are, and you don't want to keep any records that have plant='USM', and you only want the first record from sets of records that match on PRODNO CPNP PLANT PARTNO COST_YEAR, then you could use something like:

if PLANT ne 'USM' and first.cost_year;

Henary
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

Thanks for quick reply...

Actually I am converting this SAS code to SQL...