BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.

Hi everyone,

I've started learning Emacs today so that I will be able to write SAS programs and run them from within Emacs, rather than directly on SAS. I've downloaded and installed Emacs from this site:

http://ess.r-project.org/index.php?Section=home

Everyone got through as expected.

However, I really don't know how to type in a piece of codes once I've entered Emacs. I've searched through online resources, and I've seen guides, tutorials, etc.. on Emacs, but most of them are on things like how to delete a whole word, delete one character back, etc... Basically, the resources are comprehense and useful for users, but for a complete newbie like me, the first thing is to write a piece of codes and I just can't find where it shows how to do such a thing.

When I type in a tiny SAS programs, the cursor just jumps randomly across the screen. I don't know how to do it.

Could you please help?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
smilingmelbourne
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi FriedEgg, thanks for help.

1) I am using Windows 7 on my PC

2) I can connect to a Unix server through SSH with either PuTTY or SSH

BUT

3) I installed GNU Emacs from http://ess.r-project.org/index.php?Section=home . It's called Emacs Speaks Statistics (ESS). I simply clicked on the icon on my Windows 7 desktop, and Emacs open

4) YES, my problem is after I click on the Emacs desktop icon, Emacs open but this is the first time I come to Emacs, so I don't know how to start a new file, type SAS programs in it, save it, and run SAS on it. That is my problem!