BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Mel120585
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I am new to SAS and have managed to download SAS 9.0 to try and run a code I have been provided to analyse some data. However, it is getting stuck at the following point:

data libname.pampermin;
set sets;
ProbSleep = 7.601 - (0.065*MeanW5) - (1.08*sumind) - (0.056*STDpre5) -
(0.703*logact);
if probsleep = . THEN DO; PROBSLEEP = 1; END;
if probsleep < 0 and probsleep ne . then SleepIncOff = 0; if (probsleep ge 0) or
inclinometer = 0 then SleepIncOff = 1;
drop lastpax time;
run;

When it gets to this section, it comes up with "ERROR: Libname LIBNAME is not assigned." This is the first time in the code that Libname is referred to. I have tried to read other threads on this to do with assigning a pathway but can't make any progress. Could anyone give me some suggestions as to how I resolve this issue please?

Many thanks,

Mel

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

You need to have a statement that maps the LIBNAME to the path where your data resides.

Ex:

libname libname "C:\projects\mydata";

BTW, I suggest you don't use libname as the name of the library - will confuse you more.

libname mydata "C:\projects\mydata";

data mydata.pampermin;
set sets;  /* this is going to be in your WORK library.  Does the data exist? */
(0.703*logact);
if probsleep < 0 and probsleep ne . then SleepIncOff = 0; if (probsleep ge 0) or
drop lastpax time;
run;
It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

You need to have a statement that maps the LIBNAME to the path where your data resides.

Ex:

libname libname "C:\projects\mydata";

BTW, I suggest you don't use libname as the name of the library - will confuse you more.