BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
a079011
Obsidian | Level 7

I am fairly new to SAS but have “some” experience. Thanks to that I have been giving the task of de-bugging someone else’s code that no longer supports SAS. I Think I know what is happening but don’t know how to fix it. I have skimmed everything down in order to ask this question.

I have two input files that I want to merge together; JOBS & ESP
JOBS
Obs     JOB                   APPL            QUAL                                                                      
1         PCRECW30      ACREC03                                    

ESP
Obs TYP      JOB                   APPL            E_COND                                                              
1      JOB     PCRECW30      AABCC01    CCCHK RC(5:4095) FAIL
2      JOB     PCRECW30      AABCC01    CCCHK RC(0:4) OK    

I have a mergerstatement in my SAS
DATA ESPJOBS AONLY BONLY;         
MERGE ESP(IN=A) JOBS(IN=B);     
BY JOB;                         
IF A AND B THEN OUTPUT ESPJOBS; 
IF A AND NOT B THEN OUTPUT AONLY;
IF B AND NOT A THEN OUTPUT BONLY;
PROC PRINT DATA=ESPJOBS;
TITLE 'ESPJOBS';       

ESPJOBS
Obs     TYP      JOB                   APPL            E_COND           QUAL
1         JOB      PCRECW30     ACREC03     CCCHK             RC(5:4095) FAIL       
2         JOB      PCRECW30     AABCC01     CCCHK             RC(0:4) OK            

For the second observation of the ESPJOBS output the appl column is incorrect. It should be ACREC03. I think because I have a different amount of observations that contain the same job name in my input file? Is this enough information to help me or should I add more data?

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15

The following suggestion was not correct.

Try reversing the merge order:

MERGE JOBS(IN=B) ESP(IN=A) ;  

A quick-dirty fix may be: