BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
bolore
Calcite | Level 5

Hi

I'm a SAS programming beginner!

I've a got a dataset with a list of ID numbers and dates. I want to

open a different dataset corresponding to the month and year of each ID

opening date + one year on and get some data for each ID.

For example (dataset1)

ID    open_date

123  01may2004

124  16aug2010

244  20jan2009

In the end I I want to create a dataset (from a different data set with further additional data) for each of

the ID that has a corresponding open_date + 1 year.

ID      open_date      current_date  additional_data (from dataset2)

123    01may2004    01may2005   1

124    16aug2010     16aug2011    0

244    20jan2009      20jan2010     0

I guess this is similar to a lookup table in excel, but a little stuck in SAS - Hope you can help. 

11 REPLIES 11
art297
Opal | Level 21

Are they both already SAS datasets?  Does the date have to be precisely 1 year apart?  What happens if the initial date is February 29th of a given year?

If they are both SAS datasets, and dependent upon the answers for the above questions, then you can merge the two files in either a datastep or proc sql, and control the other factors.

Whether a datastep will be sufficient will be a function of what kind of match there is between the two files, i.e. one to one, one to many, or many to many.

bolore
Calcite | Level 5

Yes, they are SAS datasets.

I want to chose the second dataset from lots of possible datasets depending on the ID open date e.g. if opendate is 1aug2010 then open dataset aug2010.  The datasets are monthly datasets that I need the data from so single day precision is not required, just month.

art297
Opal | Level 21