BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Jordan88
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello,

I am brand new to SAS (am more expierenced with STATA) and am having difficulty converting character values to numeric values. 

I am doing survival analysis, and have a column of "time_to_event" that is in days. When I import the data to SAS from an excel sheet, all variables important in character format, which prevents the survival analysis from working. 

I have tried the following:

Data practice;
set work.import1;
format tte BEST6.;
tte=input(time_to_event, $5.);
run;

It generates a new SAS table, but I get an error for the conversion. The log shows the following :

"NOTE: Character values have been converted to numeric values at the places given by: (Line):(Column).
59:6
NOTE: Invalid numeric data, '.617' , at line 59 column 6
time_to_event=617 status=1 location=!!!! sex=Male age_group=<=20 region=Quebec histology=Diffuse astrocytoma tte=. _ERROR_=1 _N_=1"

Does anyone have any ideas how to fix this, or know a better way of going about it? There is a forum thread from 2012 about doing thsi conversion, but the all of the provided solutions produce the same error. 
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star

OK, here is what I would try.  In the context of a DATA step:

data want;

set have;

tte = input(compress(time_to_event, '0A'x), 5.);

run;

That should remove the extra character, then convert what is left to numeric.

Good luck!

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
Astounding
PROC Star

You're very close ... just get rid of the dollar sign:  tte = input(time_to_event, 5.);

Jordan88
Obsidian | Level 7

Hmm... I tried that, and it it ends up with the same result but a different error: 

"NOTE: Invalid argument to function INPUT at line 59 column 6.