BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hi,

I'm a Sas newbie, and I need some help figuring out how to do something.

I have 2 data sets, with a numeric key variable. I want to do a merge or lookup in in which I take they key variable in data set A, and cross check it against data set B. If the cross check meets 2 specific conditions (the variable in A and B must be within 20,000 of each other, and another variable in data set B must be a positive number), then I will take a value from Data Set B and place it in a new column in Data Set A.

The main issue I am having in doing this is, I don't know how to code an if then statement that looks in Data Set B if I have initialized the step for Data Set A. Can anyone point me in the right direction? How do you point a data step to look for a variable in a different data set than the one you are working in?
7 REPLIES 7
Olivier
Pyrite | Level 9
Hi.
Your problem sounds so much as a SQL query that my first impulse would be to advise you to the SQL procedure... Something that would say :
[pre]
PROC SQL ;
CREATE TABLE yourLib.yourResult AS
SELECT *
FROM yourLib.A, yourLib.B
WHERE ABS(a.x1 - b.x2) < 20000
AND b.z > 0
;
QUIT ;
[/pre]
However, if you feel more confortable with the Data step logic, your problem could be solved using two SET statements in the same Data step. The first one is for reading A one row at a time, and the second one for reading the whole B dataset each time a new observation is loaded from A. This can be done by controlling the second SET statement with a DO loop and a POINT option. POINT directs the SET statement to read only a specified record, instead of the implicit loop that it usually does.
Since, reading my explanations, I hardly understand myself, I think I'd best proceed to an example...
[pre]
DATA yourLib.yourResult ;
SET yourLib.A ;
DO B_row=1 TO B_size ;
SET yourLib.B POINT = B_row NOBS = B_size ;
IF ABS(x1 - x2) < 20000
AND z > 0 THEN OUTPUT ;
END ;
RUN ;
[/pre]