BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Thoney
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Guys,

One of my colleagues just asked me a SAS question and I couldn't find a solution for it online. Imagine there are 3 observations in a table like the following;

Acct no        data 1     data 2    data 3

12345678      data

12345678                   data

12345678                                  data

and he wants it to look as the following;

Acct no        data 1     data 2    data 3

12345678      data       data       data

Now I'm still learning SAS, but I know that if you need to compress a column, you use the COMPRESS command, however how do we go about compressing row-wise instead?

Kind Regards,

Tom

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

This type of thing could be done using the UPDATE statement.  Read the manual to make sure you understand what it does, but basically it will only change the value of a variable when the new record has a non-missing value.  So the result will be the last non-missing value for each column.  Which appears to be what you want.  The UPDATE statement requires two datasets.  But the first dataset could be empty.

data want ;

update have(obs=0) have;

by account_no ;

run;

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Linlin
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

data dd;
input id var$;
cards;
123456 data
;
data have;
set dd(rename=var=data1) dd(rename=var=data2)dd(rename=var=data3);

run;

/**************************/
data want;
update have(obs=0)have;
by id;
proc print;run;

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

Very neat , I wouldn't come up with that!

Actually, I don't really understand how that works..:smileyconfused:

I would thought of some SQL, like:

proc sql;

select id, max(data1) as data1, max(data2) as data2, max(data3) as data3

from have

group by id

;

quit;

Data never sleeps
Linlin
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hi LinusH,