BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Russell
Calcite | Level 5
Hey everyone,
My name is Russell, and I am rather new to SAS programming. I just graduated and work as a media analyst at an advertising firm.

Our database has a weird way of exporting some data... it uses two rows to explain some columns. For example, it will have the Row 1 saying "Projected," spanning 2 columns, then "Estimated," spanning 2 more columns. Then each individual column is named RHOMES and IHOMES. Something like this (the vertical bars denote columns):

.......... Projected................. Estimated
| RHOMES | IHOMES | RHOMES | IHOMES |

There is a lot more information all which has unique column names. So I just delete Row 1 and rename each of these headers PRHOMES, PIHOMES, ERHOMES, etc...

However, in some spreadsheets I have upwards of 6-8 columns under each header, and it gets to be a pain in the butt to do this on a weekly basis. Is there any other way to instruct SAS to understand the difference in these columns?

Thanks a bunch!
5 REPLIES 5
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
Is that really a DATABASE (like Oracle or Sybase or DB2) or are you reading an Excel spreadsheet/worksheet into a SAS dataset, where the spreadsheet has multiple row headers???

That doesn't sound like many of the databases that I have dealt with, although it sounds like the kind of report file that I have created from database data.

cynthia
Russell
Calcite | Level 5
Cynthia: it is an Excel report output from Core Media Systems, sorry for the confusion.

Reeza... that is a good idea. This is a very standard report layout which is spit out from my buying software, so as long as nobody changes it (which they can't without my password), it will stay the same order. I never even thought just to change the names on the import step... doh!

Thanks!
Ksharp
Super User
Hi.