BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
kt_uwa1990
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all

I am having difficulty engineering a code on SAS. I am new to SAS and finding this extremely difficult. I would greatly appreciative if you could help me here.

I have outlined my objectives below:

-For each PERMNO (company identifier) with DISTCD 1262 or 1272 (t=0), calculate the daily standard deviation in RET for two years before (t= -1,-2) and two years after (t= +1,+2) surrounding the day of this event.

-Then create a column called BEFORE. This is an average daily standard deviation across the years (–1,–2).

-Then create a column called AFTER. This is an average daily standard deviation across the years (+1, +2).

-Then subtract BEFORE-AFTER, to produce a difference (DIFF).

A successful code should let me refer back to a DISTCD of 1272 or 1262 and see the DIFF at that specific date.

I have been stuck for a while on this and find it challenging. I highly encourage help and useful code on this problem (please see data attachment

Thanks,

Katy

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Ksharp
Super User

That is more easy. Remove the case clause in SQL.

proc sql;
create table temp as
 select h.*,
      (select std(ret) from test_vol where permno = h.permno and date between intnx('year',h.date,-1,'s') and h.date) as std_one_year_before ,
      (select std(ret) from test_vol where permno = h.permno and date between intnx('year',h.date,-2,'s') and h.date) as std_two_year_before ,
      (select std(ret) from test_vol where permno = h.permno and date between h.date and  intnx('year',h.date,1,'s')) as std_one_year_after ,
      (select std(ret) from test_vol where permno = h.permno and date between h.date and  intnx('year',h.date,2,'s')) as std_two_year_after
  from test_vol as h;quit;

Ksharp

Message was edited by: xia keshan

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20
Ksharp
Super User