BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SAS_dj1999
Calcite | Level 5

I'm fairly new to SAS and I'd like to really get into returning data sets in the most efficient and economical fashion.  My lack of on the job experience leads me to the following.  If a client requested the have the following metrics for mean, count and sum by dpt (department), what would be the best approach to take?

data sample1;

infile datalines dlm=",";

length fn $ 12;

input fn $ dpt $ salary;

datalines;

john doe, fin, 50000

jane doe, fin, 69393

kim smith, it, 93893

ken smith, it, 80493

;

run;

quit;

something as simple as:

proc means data=sample1 sum n mean;

class dpt;

run;

quit;

or would we write PROC SQL statement or even a data set process where we're grouping to get our totals.  The Proc Means approach is really quick but it doesn't push the boundaries of being a good programmer.  With an approach like

data mt_samp (drop=fn);

set sample1 ;

by dpt;

if First.dpt then total = 0;

if First.dpt then cnt = 0;

if First.dpt then ave = total /cnt;  /** this line doesn't work, sorry

total+salary;

cnt+1;

if Last.dpt then output;

run;

quit;

Thanks,

SJ         

5 REPLIES 5
ghastly_kitten
Fluorite | Level 6

Ghm... As I understood from your post, you don't really need help on calculating metrics:

Proc means does it perfectly.

If you need to put the result of means procedure in a dataset, you need just to add a output statement into procedure:

proc means data=sample1 noprint ;

class dpt;

output out=sample_metrics sum=SumByDept n=NumOfEntries mean=MeanByDept;

run;

quit;

you can add other metrics in output statement.

p.s.

If you want to find the other way: use proc sql. It's also possible with data step, but it's not really convenient for generic task, since you need to perform sorting operations outside of the step and have to control auxilliary variables for aggregating your stats.

ArtC
Rhodochrosite | Level 12