BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
vomer
Obsidian | Level 7

I run some sas queries on a monthly basis and they export data to specific folders. Problem is I have to manually make these folders before I run the code so SAS wont error out.

Is there any way to automate this?

My folders have to be named in this fashion:

number of the Month - Name of the Month Year (12 - Dec 2011). I would also like to create a subfolder called Excel.

Also is there any way the month and number is populated automatically...so when I run this in January it changes to (1 - Jan 2012)?

Please provide the codes needed if possible...I am very new to SAS. Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

This will get todays date. Get a date in the previous month.  Build the directory names into variables. Then call the DCREATE() function to make the directories.

I put the parent directory into a variable so that I can use it two places without having to type it twice.

The PUT statement will let you see the directory names that it generated and the result of the DCREATE function.

data _null_;

rootdir='U:\Software\';

today=today();

lastmonth=intnx('month',today,-1);

dir1=catx(' ',put(month(lastmonth),z2.),'-',put(lastmonth,monname3.),year(lastmonth));

dir2=catx(' ',put(month(today),z2.),'-',put(today,monname3.),year(today));

newdir1=dcreate(dir1,rootdir);

newdir2=dcreate(dir2,rootdir);

put (rootdir dir1 newdir1 dir2 newdir2) (=/);

run;

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

You could use the "X" command to shell out to Windows to create it.

For instance, if you had a macro variable with the name of the directory, it might look something like

%LET yrmo=12-Dec2011;

x "mkdir c:\mypath\&yrmo";

x "mkdir c:\mypath\&yrmo\excel";

Doc Muhlbaier

Duke

Haikuo
Onyx | Level 15