BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
thanoon
Calcite | Level 5

hi all

i need your help to simulate multivariate continuous and ordered categorical data (10 variables :5 continuous normal and 5 ordered categorical data).

thanks in advance

8 REPLIES 8
SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

It might be easier to simulate 10 MVN variables and then apply cutpoints to create the ordinal categorical data.

Steve Denham

thanoon
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you very much for your help I hope to give me example about this.

Thanks alot

SteveDenham
Jade | Level 19

See the following discussion on how to put values into labeled bins:

https://communities.sas.com/message/193351#193351

Steve Denham

Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

for additional background, see my comments on this related thread: https://communities.sas.com/thread/51619

It's great that you are so interested in this topic.  From your comments, I am guessing that you are a student doing a project or thesis.  I am a former university professor myself, so I'd like to encourage you to work hard to figure out some of these issues yourself. By wrestling with the problems, real learning takes place, which leads to a greater understanding of the math and enables you to generalize your knowledge to the next level.

I have shown you how to generate  normal variables, binary variables, and ordinal variables that have a given mean and correlation structure. Read and reread chapter 9 of my book, which discusses "cut points" like Steve mentions.  Also read Appendix B: Generating Multivariate Ordinal Variables, which is available on the book's Web page.  If you are studying at the graduate level, you should also read the relevant references in those chapters.

thanoon
Calcite | Level 5