BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
frank021227
Calcite | Level 5

Dear all,

I am extremely new to sas, and I am working on a labor economics problem with sas.

the question is to generate a fake sample of observations and code the likelihood function assiciate with the problem. 

matlab code of the likelihood function is the following:

function [loglikelihood] = ps1q1_llk(beta, D, X)
pr = normcdf(X*beta);
loglikelihood = -sum(D.*log(pr) + (1-D).*log(1-pr));

my sas cod is the following:

proc iml;
start loglike(param) global (x);                           (param is beta in the previous, and x includes D, X)
x1 = x[,{1 2}];                                                     (x1 is X, and x3 is D)
x3 = x[,3];
pr = cdf("normal",x1*t(param));
pr2 = 1 - pr;
f = -(t(x3)*log(pr) + t(1-x3)*log(pr2));
return ( f );
finish;

I recevie error Invocation of unresolved module LOGLIK, so i messed up in the likelihoood function. could someone plz help me with it? If you somehow need more info, I would like to provide in details.

Yours,

Frank

7 REPLIES 7
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

Welcome to SAS.

It doesn't look like you messed up the function, just the call. The function name is "loglike" but the error that you posted says "loglik" (without an 'e') was not found. If I'm wrong, please also include the code that calls your function.

Here are some other ideas.

1) You can put multiple variables in the GLOBAL statement, so maybe rewrite your function like this:

start loglike(beta) global (x, D);     
   pr = cdf("normal",x*t(beta));
   pr2 = 1 - pr;
   f = -(t(D)*log(pr) + t(1-D)*log(pr2));
   return ( f );
finish;

2) If you want the function to look more like your MATLAB prototype, you can use '#' to do elementwise multiplication.

f = -sum(D#log(pr) + (1-D)#log(pr2));

Personally I like the way you wrote it, but the choice is yours.