BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ejohnson96
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS and am using proc iml to write some functions. Shoe is an already defined and working function that returns n numbers (in this case 2). I am trying to write a new function that returns a dataset that has the cards as one variable and the amount of the bet stored in another variable, but I keep getting an error. Here is my code:

proc iml;
	start new_hand(bet);
	load module = shoe;
	bet = bet;
	cards = shoe(2);
	create hand var {bet cards};
	append;
	return hand;
	finish new_hand;
	store module = new_hand;
	print(new_hand(7));
	quit;

ERROR: Matrix #TEM1001 has not been set to a value

8 REPLIES 8
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

There is a difference between a SAS data set (which is on disk) and a SAS/IML matrix (which is in RAM).  In general, you want functions to return matrices so that they can be passed along from one function to another.  Data sets are useful when you need to store data to pass to some other SAS procedure (like PROC SGPLOT to create graphics).

Are "bet" and "cards" the same dimension? I'll assume that "bet" is a scalar and that the shoe() function returns a row vector so that you can concatenate the cards with the bet:

proc iml;
load module = shoe;

start new_hand(bet);
	cards = shoe(2);
	hand = bet || cards;
	return hand;
finish new_hand;
store module = new_hand;

print (new_hand(7));

Honestly, though, I don't see the point of this function. The calling function is already going to know the value of "bet," since that value was passed in. So why not just return the cards that were generated? Since you already have the cards() function, it seems like the new_hand function doesn't do anything except return cards(2).

ejohnson96
Calcite | Level 5