BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jnvickery
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi everyone,

I am new to IML and permutation tests. I'm working on a permutation test for repeated measures ANOVA. Below is code to

create a sample dataset and IML code to run the permutation test.

My questions...

Am I totally off base with this?

Could I better vectorize the computations?

Any comments on the appropriateness of this method?

Any comments on whether or not it could be used with count data?

Many thanks,

John

/* create test dataset */

data test;

input t1-t3;

datalines;

45 50 55

42 42 45

36 41 43

39 35 40

51 55 59

44 49 56

;;

run;

proc iml;

use test;

read all into xobt;

close test;

/* module to calculate F ratio */

start fmod;

gmean = x[:];                           /* grand mean */

n = nrow(x);                             /* number of rows/subjects */

k = ncol(x);                              /* number of columns/treatments */

tmeans = x[:,];                         /* treatment means */

submeans = x[,:];                     /* subject means */

/* SSb */

SSb = (tmeans-gmean)##2;

SSb = n*(SSb[+]);

/* SSw */

SSw = (tmeans-x)##2;

SSw = SSw[+,];

SSw = SSw[+];

/* SSsub */

SSsub = k*((submeans-gmean)##2);

SSsub = SSsub[+];

SSerror = SSw-SSsub;                     /* SSerror */

MSt = SSb/(k-1);                             /* MSt */    

MSerror = SSerror/((n-1)*(k-1));         /* MSerror */

F = MSt/MSerror;                            /* F statistic */

finish;

/* calculate F for observed data */

x = xobt;

run fmod;

fobt = F;

print fobt;

/* permutation test */

call randseed(1234);

x = j(nrow(xobt),ncol(xobt));                /* allocate matrix for permuted data */

B = 1000;                                         /* number or reps */

fdist = j(B,1);                                    /* vector to hold bootstrap dist of F */