BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
ahappel
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am a graduate student (in ecology, so not a great background in mathematics or coding languages) attempting an optimization for a part of my thesis.  Currently I have the coding below in an attempt to get the "program" to work with pseudo-data.  This has been constructed based on publications, which use other programming languages, but the functions are "...local minimizer for smooth non-linear functions subject to bound-constrained parameters, and uses a quasi-newton method". Thus I believe the correct call is NLPQN, however when running this I do not get the expected optimization.

Proc IML;

start qfasa(y);

prey={17 41 5, 40 30 25}; /*pseudo-profile of three prey items with 2 variables each*/

predator={13.4, 29.5}; /*pseudo-profile of one predator with 2 variables that are the proportional addition of the prey items*/

predic=(prey#y);

diet=predic[,+];

KL1=((predator-diet)#log10(predator/diet));  /*Kulback-Liebler Distance*/

KL=KL1[+,];

Return(KL);  /*currently must be a scalar, possible to get this for each predator column when more are added? (do loops?)*/

finish qfasa;

y={.5 .25 .25};  /* Initial guess at proportions*/

c={0 0 0, 1 1 1}; /*Constraints on parameters*/

optn={0 2};

call nlpqn(rc,xr,"qfasa",y,optn,c) ;

run;

*/Answer should be { .25 .15 .60}*/

Thanks for any help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

From your starting conditions and your answer, I'm guessing that you expect that the parameters sum to one? (Are they proportions?).  You have not constrained the parameter sum.

There are two ways you can do this:

1) Leave the constraint matrix as it is and add a penalty term to the objective function. For example, add

return( KL + 1000*(sum(y)-1)##2)

2) Incorporate the constraints into the matrix: