BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
pcur
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi Folks,

I'm very new to PROC IML but am attempting to simulate a dataset based on a preexisting correlation matrix. I found a nice macro for this (corr2data) at http://www.ats.ucla.edu/stat/sas/macros/corr2data_demo.htm. I've simplified this slightly for my use, as provided below. 

This works well for me but I need to adapt this to simulate hundreds of datasets from the same correlation matrix, and assign a sample ID to each simulated dataset. I used a %Do loop to achieve this, and in combination with a datastep this works, but I'm failing at making a sampleID variable to append to each row of the output dataset. (e.g., so all rows generated in the first iteration are labeled "1", and all rows labeled in the 13th iteration are labeled "13", for example).

Here's what I've got so far. Help much appreciated. 

The macro call: %SIMUDATA(simu.Fakenorm, simu.Rmat, 1051); 

the macro:

%macro SIMUDATA(outdata, corrmat, n);
%Do index=1 %to 20 %by 1;

proc iml;
use &corrmat;
read all var _num_ into C;
rn = nrow(C);
cn = ncol(C);
p = root(C);
dim = nrow(C);
myvar = rannor(J(&n, dim, 0));
do i = 1 to dim;
myvar[, i] = myvar[,i]-(sum(myvar[,i])/&n);
end;
XX = (t(myvar)*myvar)/(&n-1);
U = root(inv(XX));
Y = myvar*T(U);
T = Y*p;
* S=J(dim, 1, &index);               <----I made this in an attempt to create a vector of nrow length labeled with the index number
* V=insert(T,S,0,35);               <-----I made this to append that to the simulated dataset
create &outdata from V;
append from V;
quit;

data simu.cumu;
set simu.cumu &outdata;
run;

%end;
%mend;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
pcur
Fluorite | Level 6

Much appreciated!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ