BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
ty004720
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello All,

I am studying the two-way interaction effects of multiple variables. If there are 17 interested variables (say x1,x2,…,x17), there will be 17*16/2=136 two-way interaction terms. How can I create all those 136 two-way interaction terms and store them into a data table?

Thanks! Any ideas will be much appreciated! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

I see. So you are building the interaction of a variable with itself.  Again I emphasize that it will be easier to use one of the dedicated SAS procedures for this. You can use the SUBMIT statement to call a SAS procedure from within a SAS/IML program.

That said, if c=HDIR(a,a), the columns you want to keep are exactly the indices (in row-major order) of the strictly upper-triangular elements of a p x p matrix, where p=ncol(a).  In the following statements, I use some SAS/IML functions that might be new to you:

The program just figures out which columns correspond to the desired interactions.  I've also generated example names, which is not necessary but seems useful.

proc iml;
a = {1 2  3 5};
c = hdir(a,a);     /* all two-way interactions */

names = "a":"d";
p = ncol(a);

interactNames = expandgrid(names, names);  /* names of all two-way interactions */
fullNames = interactNames[,1] + "*" + interactNames[,2]; 
print c[colname=fullNames];

M = shape(1:p##2, p);
keepIdx = loc( row(M) < col(M) );

partInteract = c[ ,keepIdx];
partNames = interactNames[keepIdx,1] + "*" + interactNames[keepIdx,2]; 
print partInteract[colname=partNames];

View solution in original post

19 REPLIES 19
WarrenKuhfeld
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
%mktex(2 ** 17, n=32) /* make a design */

* code it;
proc transreg data=design design;
   model class(%macro int; x1 %do i = 2 %to 17; | x&i %end; @2 %mend; %int);
   output out=coded;
   run;