BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
onesasuser
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all, I'm a beginner using SAS to perform network analysis. The data set is represented as the follows:

node 1node 2

Each column represents the id of nodes; each row represents an edge from node 1 to node 2.There are a large amount of nodes, say 200000, Now I want to convert this data set to a 200000 x 200000 adjacency matrix, i.e. each row and each column represents a node, a value 1 is set to row i column j if there is an edge from node i to node j. According to the above table the converted one is like this:

Now my problem is, because the data set is too large, when using SAS IML to create a 200000 x 200000 matrix there is insufficient memory. So I wonder if there is alternatives to create such a big matrix? If it is doable, how could I do it?

Many thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

SAS has a product (SAS Social Network Analysis) for SNA, but it doesn't use SAS/IML.

What you intend to do with the adjacency matrix once you have it?  For a matrix that large, the obvious approch is to use a sparse representation, but there are only a small number of matrix operations that are supported for sparse matrices.

For smaller networks, you can use the SUB2NDX function (added in SAS/IML 12.1) to quickly build a (dense) adjacency matrix:

proc iml;

nodes = {

3 1,

4 2,

2 3 };

maxNode = max(nodes);

adj = j(maxNode, maxNode, 0);

idx = sub2ndx(dimension(adj), nodes);

adj[idx] = 1;

print adj;

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

SAS has a product (SAS Social Network Analysis) for SNA, but it doesn't use SAS/IML.