BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Andrew_
Fluorite | Level 6

I am new to vectorizing generally and SAS/IML though have quickly realised the potential program and computational savings.  I have a specific problem I have set out below and have searched the internet, to no avail.  I have been inspired by the solution to another problem in this link - in which a series calculation is vectorized from a DO loop and read a lot of Rick Wicklin's blog which have helped massively.

Problem: I have a transition matrix (e.g. 4x4) and I want to forecast the volume movement between the 4 states over N months. The final result will be a Nx4 matrix with the forecasted volumes in each state.  I can achieve this using a DO loop but I am hopeful that someone can help me find a vectorized solution, as I may have to run similar vectorize this problem.

The attached files contains an example of my current approach (using a DO loop).

Thanks in advance.

Andrew

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

This is an iterative computation, so you can't avoid the DO loop. If you are only interested in the asymptotic steady-state solution, there are ways to find that directly by using eigenvalues, but if you want the forecast time series then you have to compute each step.

There is a way to make your program more efficient. Currently you are computing a matrix power (trans**i), which is an expensive computation at each stepo of the loop. At the i_th step you are repeating all the computations from the previous step, plus one more matrix multiplication.

However, you can reduce this to N matrix-vector computations, which is much faster.  Inside the loop, merely update the previous computation, like this:

v = input1;
do i = 1 to ForecastMonths ;
   v = v * trans;
   results[i, ] = v;
end ;