BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
pavladoc
Calcite | Level 5

Hello :

I'm new in SAS, for my projet i have to use SAS to compute the FFT vector for a vector x :

let x be a complex vector (size = n), I need to find the vector z (size = n) after a FFT with my vector x.

So I'm looking for an function similar with z=fft(x) in R.

On SAS documentation website, all i can find concerning FFT is these following link :

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/statug/63347/HTML/default/viewer.htm#statug_kde_sect015....

-> theoretical explaination, not exctly what i need

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/imlug/59656/HTML/default/viewer.htm#langref_sect80.htm

-> x here is a NUMERIC vector, so here comes my second question : HOW DO I WORK WITH COMPLEX NOMBER IN SAS ?

-> this function returns a vector of size np*2 with np=floor(n/2+1), i don't understand why its size is not n*2 ?

Thank you for your help Smiley Happy

Oscar C

4 REPLIES 4
Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ

The FFT function in SAS/IML returns a matrix with two column. The first column is the cosine component (or the real part) and the second column is the sine component (or the imaginary component).

If your data are complex, convert them to a real signal to analyze them SAS. With limited exceptions (eigenvalues, eigenvectors), SAS deals with real numbers.

pavladoc
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you Rick.

So FFT in SAS can only deal with real vector.

But I don't know how to convert complex signal to real signal :smileyplain:, it's that possible with some functions in SAS ? I can't find informations on Google about this conversion.

Thank you a lot for your precious help.

Oscar

Rick_SAS
SAS Super FREQ