BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Steelers_In_DC
Barite | Level 11

This is a duplicate message but the original is several years old and I wasn't able to follow it, so I thought it was worth repeating.  

I am new to a client and trying to connect EG.

I have PC SAS but nobody here uses EG, I'd like to use PC SAS and print the IP address to the log.  The idea is that I would get the IP address and port from the log in PC SAS, and use that to connect with EG.  I hope that makes sense, any help is appreciated.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

Here is a thing you can try if you have EG 8.2. 

It's clunky, and it won't work if the installed PC SAS doesn't include a SAS Integration Technologies license (check proc product_status; run;) to see.

• On the machine with PC SAS, open a command prompt.
  • Run ipconfig and note the IPv4 address in the output.
  • Run this SAS command (adjust paths as needed - enter all on one line)

"c:\Program Files\SASHome\SASFoundation\9.4\sas.exe" 
 -objectserver -objectserverparms "protocol=bridge port=5555 nosecurity cel=none" 
 -nologo -noterminal

The port number can be anything you want.  This launches a SAS session that listens for a client connection on that port.  Your firewall software might balk at this, for good reason.  If you have privileges to allow it, great.  If not...well, you might be done with this experiment.  The nosecurity bypasses need for credentials, and cel=none bypasses encryption across the connection.  (In case you think I'm revealing secrets here, this is all documented in the OBJECTSERVER and OBJECTSERVERPARMS reference doc.)