BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Therob107
Calcite | Level 5

Hello all,

I hope everyone's day is going great. I have a question regarding libraries and finding specific data within them without knowing the dataset and field name.  Basically, I am trying to find a particular field name that provides the data I need within a data set. The issue is I have no idea what data set and field name that the information is stored on, the naming convention on the report is not working. I have a record of data from an Excel report and need to find out where it came from.  Is there any SAS features or code I can use to find it?  Many thanks. I apologize if it is something obvious, I am new to SAS. Many thanks.

Sincerely,

Rob

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ehehedhd
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Rob,

It's not entirely clear from your email whether you're looking for a particular field without knowing which table it's on, or for a specific data value without knowing which filed and table it's on. The former is much easier than the latter to solve - when you run SAS (or EGuide, etc) it should automatically create libraries in your list, like the WORK library. One of these is SASHELP, and it contains a lot of useful information about the other data in your SAS session - metadata of a sort.

For example, SASHELP.VLIBNAM is a list of the libraries you have assigned (and can be used to find their physical locations, whether they're read-only, on your machine or a server etc etc). SASHELP.VTABLE is basically the next level down, being a list of the various tables which exist.

SASHELP.VCOLUMN might be your friend here, it's a list of columns by library and the table they appear on, which might be a good way to find your mysterious data.