BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Seb_A_Sanders
Calcite | Level 5

Hi there, I'm new to the SAS forums, but been using Enterprise Guide 5.1 for about a year now (soon upgrading to the latest EG).

I have a project where I transpose month by month data from vertical to horizontal, thereby creating a column for each month. Obviously this adds a new column each month, which I then have to manually add to the query that follows it.

I'm wondering whether there is any way to automatically add these new columns to my query, or alternatively, to tranpose without generating the "Source" and "Label" columns. I'm a new user so while not being afraid of using code to do this, I have zero background in coding (hoping to learn this soon though)!

Thanks in advance for any help.

3 REPLIES 3
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

Why do you require the transpsed table?  It is easier to work with the normalised strcuture - hence why its probably in that form already.  You have hit on eof the issues of transposed data - i.e. knowing what a table where the structure keeps changing looks like, the other issue is that eventually, you will have so many columns the data is not reviewable - I mean how many people really scroll to the right through lots of columns?

I suppose if you really had to work with this - say it was for a report (i.e not for further processing), then you could either do:

proc sql noprint;
  select distinct NAME 
  into    :V separated by " "
  from   DICTIONARY.COLUMNS
  where LIBNAME="<your_libname>"
    and  substr(MEMNAME,1,3)="ABC";
quit;

The above would give you a macro variable separated by spaces, of each variable in <your_libname>.ABCxyz - just assumed a prefix of ABC here.

Or if you need to process the data, then arrays - make sure each of your column names is prefixed the same, i.e. don't put "data" as the variable name e.g:

proc transpose data=have out=t_have prefix="COL";
  by <by_vars>;
  var <var>;
  id month;
  idlabel month;
run;