BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
RPYee
Quartz | Level 8

A complete novice, I am using SAS Enterprise Guide and have created a summary table.  For ease of discussion, I have two metrics... the Classification variables are product names and the analysis variables are the number of each product on hand.  The results show the table sorted by product name with their associated inventory count.  I can only figure out how to sort this summary table by the product name, either ascending or descending.  I need this sorted by the inventory count, descending. 

Can someone PLEASE help me??

Thanks, in advance!

Rita Yee

Project Engineer, FedEx Express

Accepted Solutions
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

Bad news and good news...

I don't believe this is an option in PROC TABULATE, which is the underlying procedure used by "Summary Tables".

However, there is a fairly easy option, which I believe you can implement completely using the GUI interface.

First, do the needed summarization using the "Summary Statistics" task. On the "Results" tab, unclick "Show Statistics", and click "Save Statistics to data set". Set up the "Statistics" tab to give you the results you want.

After you run the task, you should see a dataset with your product quantities summarized by product name. Now use the "Sort Data" task to sort the dataset by descending quantity.

Now that you have the summarized dataset you want, you can basically use "Summary Tables" as a formatting engine. Run it, and for the "Classification Variables" submenu, pick "sort by" Data set order. Make your statistic a sum (really, you're just printing the existing sum as there's only one record per product name), and away you go!

I've been using this one for years...I love the formatting from PROC TABULATE, but I can't always get it to summarize exactly what I want.

Tom

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Reeza
Super User