BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
K_HARI__PRASAD
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I have to send emails from SAS by fetching the data from a data set. I have the mail ids around 5000. Hence I am getting "WARNING: Email service not available". Hence I would like to send the first 200 mails first and hold the process for few seconds and start the process to send 201 to 400 and hold the process for the same few seconds and so on.

My data set looks as follows.

useridmailid
100abc@some.com
101def@some.com
102ghi@some.com
103jkl@some.com
104mno@some.com
105pqr@some.com

All these are unique mail ids.

I am new to SAS and I wrote the code as below..but I am getting "WARNING: Email service not available" becuase of SMTP server timeout or heavy load.

%macro email;

FILENAME file_mail EMAIL LRECL=3200 TYPE='text/html';

DATA _NULL_;
          SET emails END=EOF;
          BY mailid userid;
          FILE file_mail;

put '!EM_TO!' mailid;
               put '!EM_SUBJECT!' 'Test Plans have been created.';
               put 'The following test plans have been created with you as a tester.';
               put '<br>';
               link = '<a href="' ||left(strip(userid)) || '">' ||'</a>'
               put '!EM_SEND!';
               put '!EM_NEWMSG!';
                    if EOF then
                         put '!EM_ABORT!';

RUN;

%mend;
%email;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
esjackso
Quartz | Level 8

I think you can skip the counter and use:

if mod(_n_,200) = 0 then sleep(2);

Eric

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
esjackso
Quartz | Level 8

I think you can skip the counter and use:

if mod(_n_,200) = 0 then sleep(2);

Eric

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Of course, but calling the mod() function with every iteration may unnecessarily eat CPU cycles. Blame it on the old-school programmer in me Smiley Happy

K_HARI__PRASAD
Calcite | Level 5