BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Omnislash
Calcite | Level 5
Our company is working on getting a SAS license, is this component "SAS Access to Oracle" really necessary?

We are an Oracle shop on Windows XP, MS drivers should allow for all types of ODBC connection and I suppose you can connect to different types of databases (Oracle, MS SQL, Access, Essbase....) without any issue.

Are there users here that did not purchase this module? Anyone knows what you would gain for getting this data access component? I am new to this tool any help would be appreciated.
4 REPLIES 4
RichardH_sas
SAS Employee
First off, you'll need SAS/Access to Oracle or SAS/Access to ODBC, but one way or another you'll need some sort of SAS/Access software. You're right that ODBC would allow connection to a variety of databases besides Oracle.

I'm not an expert on SAS/Access stuff, but last I asked someone who was, here's what he told me about the differences between SAS/Access to ODBC and SAS/Access for the specific DBMS:

1. SAS/Access to a specific DBMS (e.g. Oracle) will be 4-10 times faster than ODBC.
2. ODBC will not allow you to use bulkload. Not sure what bulkload is, but it sounds like something that could be nice. 🙂
Omnislash
Calcite | Level 5
Thanks, Richard. The problem is these data access modules are sold separate and they are expensive. Unlike Base SAS, SAS/STAT, or SAS/GRAPH I cannot seem to find these data access components and their purposes on the SAS website.

Vendor says these are the SAS version of drivers for data access, more stable and allow pass through queries to be run on the database server hence more efficient. However, I wonder how the tool performs with native Microsoft drivers via ODBC connection. Please provide feedback if your SAS package does not include any additional data access modules.
RichardH_sas
SAS Employee
Happy to help! Some reading to get you started is at:

http://support.sas.com/documentation/cdl/en/acreldb/59618/HTML/default/app3-accgen8.htm