BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
lloraine
Calcite | Level 5

I need to do a running count.  How do you do this in SAS Enterprise Guide 4.3?  I need specifics as I am fairly new to this tool.  Thank you.

12 REPLIES 12
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

I have a custom task for Calculate Running Totals.  You can download it at:

Custom Tasks for SAS Enterprise Guide using Microsoft .NET

See the Chapter 11 example.  You can download the Binaries and install the task per the instructions in the free chapter of my book.

Alternatively, you can achieve this fairly easily with DATA step.  See this SAS Note for an example.

Chris

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.
lloraine
Calcite | Level 5

I need a running count not total.  In another tool, I use running-count(zipcode for Group number).  I call the calculated column runningctzip.  It counts the number of zipcodes for a group number - 1,2 etc.  Then I say runningctzip = 1 because I only want the first one.  Anything like that in SAS?

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

Can you please provide some examples/sample data...?

Data never sleeps
lloraine
Calcite | Level 5

Group Number           Zip                   Calculated column - runningct(zip for Group Number) called ZipCnt
01                            15108                        1

01                            15233                        2

02                            12222                        1

03                            13333                        1

03                            12344                        2

03                            13456                        3

Since I only want the first Zip, I would say ZipCnt =1

AaroninMN
Obsidian | Level 7

This loop might get you close.

sort data=Table;

by Group_Number ZIP_Code;

H=1;

Run;

data chk;

set Table;

by Group_Number ZIP_Code;

if first.Group_Number and first.ZIP_Code then sub_total =0;

if last.Group_Number;

run;

p12937