BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jcb267
Calcite | Level 5

Hi -

I have created several queries using a data application made in EG 6.1.  Now I would like to create reports using the results of the queries in EG.  I am new to EG though, can this be done?

Thanks,

John

8 REPLIES 8
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

Hi, John

Yes, reporting is one of the strengths of Enterprise Guide.

I suggest you work through the Enterprise Guide tutorial. In terms of reporting, take a look at the tasks under "Describe". Also, the tasks under "Graph" will let you create a number of different chart types.

Tom

jcb267
Calcite | Level 5

Thanks for the suggestions, Tom.

I will go through the tutorial today.......I have looked at the options in "Describe" and "Graph" but felt they were somewhat limited......Is it possible to create reports that are not limited in anyway, so that you can choose the parameters to base your report on?

Thanks again!

John

TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

In my opinion (and I'm sure several of my compatriots will chime in with their own!) there are two ways to produce reports using SAS and Enterprise Guide. The first is using the "procedures", which underlie the tasks in EG. Their names are PRINT, REPORT, TABULATE, MEANS, and FREQ, which sort-of gives an indication of what they're good at. They are canned programs, which offer a lot of options for customization. In my opinion, they are very similar to what you get in a lot of software packages.

The other option is to produce your report using DATA step programming. Doing this is completely flexible, but requires (possibly advanced) programming skills.

If humanly possible, stick with the procedures.

1. Do you have a rough idea of what your report should look like (perhaps mocked up in Excel or Word)? If so, post it, and the contributors can comment.