BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
TurnTheBacon
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello,

I'm fairly new to using SAS software, and would appreciate some general directions on a very basic problem.

Imagine that you have a cube with a star schema that stores data on customer relations, and that you're asked to provide end-users with history/snapshots of this data that they can analyze by months and by quarters. The program must provide snapshots of the past 10 months or so, and capture a new snapshot by the end of each future month. All snapshots must be from the 30th/31st, whichever is the last day of the month.

How would you typically approach such a problem? And would you make two programs: one for capturing historical data 10 months back, and one for automatically capturing future data as it becomes available? I guess those would be two separate data flows whose tables would be parsed, in the same ETL job.

I'd especially appreciate advice on what kind of code I might use for the WHERE statement of the first Extract transformation in such a situation, in order to get the correct monthly snapshots from the source table.

Definitely need some more experience in order to wrap my head around this. In any case, thanks for your attention.

4 REPLIES 4
Astounding
PROC Star

One of the keys will be understanding how the INTNX function works.  It returns the first day of a time period.  If we were dealing with SAS data sets, and variables stored as SAS dates, this would be a possibility:

data want;

set have;

where (intnx('MONTH', "&sysdate9"d, -12) <= snapshot_date < intnx('MONTH', "&sysdate9"d, 0));

run;

In this example, &SYSDATE9 is an automatic macro variable (text string) representing the date the program began, and "&SYSDATE9"d translates that value into SAS's date scale.  The INTNX function identifies the first day of the month from 12 months ago, and the second INTNX function identifies the first day of the current month.