BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
StataUser
Calcite | Level 5

Hello, I am very new to SAS and am currently trying to translate some Stata code, including a regression. I am able to successfully get the same coefficients in the output but I haven't been able to save them. This is the code I am using:

proc glm;

absorb ID;

model kw = i txi / solution noint;

run;

quit;

I haven't been able to use the OUTPUT command (it says this can not be used with absorb) and OUTSTAT doesn't contain the coefficients. OUTEST doesn't seem to work with Proc glm either. I just need to save the coefficients since I'll be running this multiple times on large datasets.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

4 REPLIES 4
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

You can output the coefficients using the ODS capabilities.  See the ODS Output section of the SAS documentation for your version of PROC GLM.  In 12.1, the table is named ParameterEstimates.

PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

@Doc_Duke wrote:

You can output the coefficients using the ODS capabilities.  See the ODS Output section of the SAS documentation for your version of PROC GLM.  In 12.1, the table is named ParameterEstimates.

When you use ABSORB, you cannot get coefficients for the main effects in the ABSORB statement — you can't get these coefficients via ODS or in some output destination like HTML. Why? Because SAS doesn't compute them. (You can get coefficients for other terms in the model, just not the coefficients for terms in the ABSORB statement).

This is a tradeoff you make when you choose ABSORB, the model is computed faster and uses less memory, but as a result you can't get coefficients for the ABSORBed variables.

According to the documentation at: https://documentation.sas.com/?cdcId=pgmmvacdc&cdcVersion=9.4&docsetId=statug&docsetTarget=statug_gl...