BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
atljogger
Calcite | Level 5

I'm new to SAS so apologize for the newbie question - I can't figure this task out.    I have a  two part query - first part creates a table of records and second part uses that table.  Basically I want to tell the second query to go look up the data in the first table and then match on it in a second table.

Simplistic example below - I create table 'car_list' with a single column of data 'model_id'.  I then match only those model ID's in a second table to pull sales and locations.  This second query creates and outputs 'sales_summary' table.   The first process correctly creates 'car_list'', but the second query returns error message Object 'car_list' does not exist.  How do I retrieve the model_id in 'car_list' table to use in 2nd process?  Does it go in FROM section or I do have to do some kind of In List function?  *This is several million rows so copy/pasting in the output from Query 1 is not an option

proc sql;
    connect to...;

create table car_list as ...(

select  model_id

from  datasource1.model_list

where model_id in (a,b,c,d,e)

);quit;

proc sql;
    connect to...;

create table sales_summary as ...(
  select
        sum(a.sales) as Sales,
        count(a.locations) as Locations      

from
        datasource2.sales a,
        car_list b

where  a.model_id = b.model_id

group by 1,2

);quit;

3 REPLIES 3
PGStats
Opal | Level 21

Not sure I understand what you are doing. The problem seem to be that you are asking a server to join a table that was created on your local machine (car_list) with a table that resides on the server (sales). The server doesn't know where your SAS table is. If both queries are pass-through queries run on the same database then they could be combined into a single query that would be run on the server without creating the local table.

PG

PG
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User