BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
csumby
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi folks,

noob here and totally wet behind the ears. I am not so much a user but more platform support. Our legacy system includes SAS EG 7.2. We understand that to fully utilize Viya and EG we will need to move to EG 8+. Now, in the meantime I have one of my guys requesting access to the EG 7.2 web interface that I never knew existed! Has anyone got any experience of such? I think he may be getting confused with the standalone 8+ we are installing.....

Best regards,

Colin 

2 REPLIES 2
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

SAS Viya 2020+ (also known as SAS Viya 4) does not support connections from EG. Rather, the SAS Studio environment has evolved to support many of the flow/task/programming features that you're accustomed to from EG. See the most recent updates for SAS Studio on our Release Highlights forum.

SAS Viya 3.5 supports EG connections in certain cases. These require some additional info from your SAS account team to enable it -- it's not a mainline use case, but it's designed to help with transitioning.

Check out SAS Innovate on-demand content! Watch the main stage sessions, keynotes, and over 20 technical breakout sessions!
sbxkoenk
SAS Super FREQ

Hello @csumby ,

I happen to know your use case a little bit.

You are moving from SAS 9.4 Office Analytics to SAS VIYA 3.5.

As it is VIYA 3.5 (and not yet VIYA 4) you can indeed use SAS Enterprise Guide 8.3 as a front-end tool, ... for most of the work.

Enterprise Guide is a Windows Client application that can connect to a SAS server (also a SAS server running on a non-Windows OS, like Linux/UNIX).

There's no such thing as a EGuide 7.2 web interface.

But your new VIYA 3.5 is browser-based and the typical programming front-end tool in SAS VIYA is SAS Studio (browser-based).