BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
JenniferLB08
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi all,

I'm new to SAS and using Enterprise Guide on a Windows VM has posed some difficulty in working with data stored locally. I use the Import Wizard to open local files and assign it to a library I've created in the Management Console. After I do that, how do I save the data? I see a table is created in the library, does that mean it is "saved"? From there, how do I start a new program to work with the data? Going to File>New>Program doesn't connect them in the Process Flow and adding a Libname doesn't work either. 

I'm sorry if this sounds all over the place. I'm so new I don't really know how to describe what I'm trying to do other than, once I use the Import Wizard in SAS EG and it opens, how can I start a new program to do basic stuff like rename columns?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
bobpep212
Quartz | Level 8

Once you go through the import wizard, you are basically creating a SAS dataset saved in your library, either a permanent library, or work library. So, yet, it should be saved at that point. You can run any sort of task, like query builder. It will ask for your SAS dataset as the input and you would just navigate to that library and SAS dataset from your server tree. Or, from the process flow, you can right click on the output dataset from your import and it will give options on what you can do with it.

You can add new programs that references that dataset, but you won't see the line to connect the steps import step to that program. But you can manually add it. This is also helpful to control the order your programs run in (also check out ordered lists for that).

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
bobpep212
Quartz | Level 8