BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SamMad
Obsidian | Level 7

Hello Everyone, I am a newbie to SAS (Enterprise Guide). I am trying to import a large CSV data ( 7GB file) of about 18 Million records. I have copied the file to SAS server using WinSCP and I now trying to import that file to a SAS Dataset. I did use the %LET command to specify the Source and Destination. I turned off the Data cleaning checks but sometime after 2 hours or so . I get the following error:

Insufficient memory to continue the execution of the program.

I checked the space on the destination folder and I have over 450GB so that cannot be a problem. Any suggestions?

Also since I am a newbie, does SAS first tries to import a file into another form of text in SAS and then as a second step, it takes that imported file and converts to SAS format data set?

Appreciate community help if they help in the right direction.

Thanks,

SamMad

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

Glad to hear you made it this far! Like every other high-end product these days, SAS has multiple ways to import .csv files.

1. Using the "File | Import Data" dialogue in Enterprise Guide. In your case, DON'T use this, as it wants to examine the data on your local PC, and of course your data is on the server. This is a great option if you have a small dataset on your PC.

2. SAS has a software tool called "PROC IMPORT" which will bring data from a variety of formats into SAS. I was able to import a .csv version of the sashelp.cars dataset using this syntax:

proc import datafile="C:\ddd\cars.csv" out=cars dbms=csv;
run;

One nice thing about this option is it prints in the log the SAS code that it generates, so you can grab it and tailor it to your needs.

I suggest you give that code a try, and see what you think.