BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Calcite | Level 5

I'm trying to compile unique csv files that are generated daily, and attempting to automate that within EG. The url file path will end in the date with a  format of "7-Jun-2018".

I had a thought of possibly prompting the user to select the date they would like to use, and have EG pull that specific day's files. I don't know how to take that user input and translate that to a URL path to grab the files.

Is there a way to use a variable piece of data, like the desired date, and insert that into part of the URL file path to get the desired daily file?

I'm relatively new to EG, so I know this is a broad question. I'm hoping to get a general direction I should start heading.

3 REPLIES 3
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

@968107

A Prompt allows you to take user input during runtime of a program. 

In the SAS code the prompt name is a SAS Macro variable with the value the user entered/selected.

You can use this SAS Macro variable in your code and it will resolve to the value before the SAS code executes (macro "pre-processing").

You don't want to define this in a single EG project as then you'd have to distribute copies of this project to your users which makes this unmanageable. For this reason you should implement such a process with a prompt as a Stored Process (centrally saved on the SAS server side) which then can be called out of EG (or other clients).

For above to work you'll have to verify that your site got the license for Stored Processes. If yes then below link should give you a starting point.

http://documentation.sas.com/?docsetId=stpug&docsetTarget=stpugwhatsnew94.htm&docsetVersion=9.4&loca...

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Is definitely possible to generate part of code using a macro variable. That is what they were created to do.