BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
I hope this is reaching you in the best of health and spirits

I am new to EG and still trying to feel my way around. Is there a way to expand the use of the compute function in the query task? I would like to define a column's value base of data from tw different fields:

Example
If Sub-Market Code = 500 and Market is = "Test" then name "Test Group"

If this is not possible with the compute function in the query task can you advice me how to do an then..else statement in EG

Thanks in advance
3 REPLIES 3
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager
You can get this done with the CASE statement in the expression builder in the query builder. If you are using the query to pull a subset of the data, this has the advantage of creating the new column as it filters the data.

Create a calculated column, using an expression like this:

[pre]
CASE
WHEN (SOURCE.sub_market_code = 500 and SOURCE.market = "Test")
THEN "Test Group"
END
[/pre]

EG will generate the "as Name" suffix that creates a new column named Name or whatever you choose.

That works within the proc sql that EG generates.

If want a code approach and don't mind making another pass through the data, you could use a simple DATA step:

[pre]
data SOURCE;
set SOURCE;
length name $ 20;
if (DATA.sub_market_code = 500 and DATA.market = "Test") then
name="Test Group";
run;
[/pre]

Chris
It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.
deleted_user
Not applicable
Thank you
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
In the GUI interface, when you create a computed column, EG gives you an expression editor where you can enter your "condition". The "new computed column" is entered through the popup window that's associated with the expression. EG is actually building an SQL query behind the scenes and creating PROC SQL code.

The way you create columns conditionally in PROC SQL is with a CASE clause. For example:
[pre]
proc sql;