BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
charles_s_patridge
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS EG and we have a number of EG projects.  These projects can have quite a few code blocks (sas code) and would like to know of a way where a programmer could search through the code blocks looking for specific text strings or variable names.

I have tried using WINZIP to open up an EG project but all the code blocks have the name of "code.sas" and unable to save these code blocks within a specific directory because they all have the same name and I really do not want to have to rename each code.sas to another name.  If I was able to save these all in a single directory then I can use search tools to do what I would like to do.

It would really be nice to have this feature built into SAS EG project but have not been able to find such a utility.  It would be nice to have a feature for SAS code much like the "Project LOG" - to be able to see all the code in a single window/view to do a search.

Any help would be great.

Charles Patridge

7 REPLIES 7
art297
Opal | Level 21

Chuck,

I, too, am new to EG, but think that making the code segments so that they ARE NOT embedded will allow you to search through them like you would with any regular SAS code.

Art

Patrick
Opal | Level 21

If this is kind of a "once-off" then you could just export the whole projects as code (file/export/export all code in project...).

If you want this to do this on a regular bases then I think you need to use the project.xml file in the .egp zip archive as starting point to kind of mimik what the export does for you - or you try to figure out what "export all code in project..." is actually doing and if you're able to call this "module" from outside EG with something like VB. Not my area though but may be someone can tell you more.

DF
Fluorite | Level 6 DF
Fluorite | Level 6

I've done as Patrick says myself, as a one-off.